

Lieutenant Governor

# Department of **Environmental Quality**

Kimberly D. Shelley Executive Director

DIVISION OF WATER QUALITY John K. Mackey, P.E. Interim Director

Water Quality Board Steven K. Earley, Chair James Webb, Vice Chair Carly Castle Brandon Gordon Michela Harris Joseph Havasi Trevor Heaton Michael D. Luers Kimberly D. Shelley John K. Mackey

Interim Executive Secretary

**Utah Water Quality Board Meeting** Via Zoom

> **Anchor Location** MASOB 195 North 1950 West **Board Room 1015** Salt Lake City, UT 84116

May 25, 2022 Board Meeting Begins at 8:30 am

#### **AGENDA**

A. Minutes: Approval of Minutes for April 27, 2022 Water Quality Board Meeting	. Steven Earley
B. Executive Secretary's Report	John Mackey

C. Funding:

- 1. Request to Appoint Paul Burnett as Signatory for State Nonpoint Source Program ...... Emily Cantón
- **D. Public Comment Period**

Water Quality Board Meeting - Roll Call

E. Meeting Adjournment

**Next Meeting** June 22, 2022 at 8:30 am **DEO Board Room 1015** 195 North 1950 West Salt Lake City, UT 84116 Via Zoom

Revised 5/18/2022 DWQ-2022-011713

In compliance with the American Disabilities Act, individuals with special needs (including auxiliary communicative aids and services) should contact Larene Wyss, Office of Human resources, at (801) 536-4281, TDD (801) 536-4284, or by email at <a href="https://www.lwys.gov">www.lwys.gov</a> at least five working days prior to the scheduled meeting.



SPENCER J. COX Governor

DEIDRE HENDERSON Lieutenant Governor

# Department of Environmental Quality

Kimberly D. Shelley Executive Director

DIVISION OF WATER QUALITY John K. Mackey, P.E. Interim Director Water Quality Board

Steven K. Earley, Chair
James Webb, Vice Chair
Carly Castle
Brandon Gordon
Michela Harris
Joseph Havasi
Trevor Heaton
Michael D. Luers
Kimberly D. Shelley
John K. Mackey
Interim Executive Secretary

#### **MINUTES**

# UTAH DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY UTAH WATER QUALITY BOARD

MASOB and Via Zoom

April 27, 2022 8:30 am Work Meeting 9:30 am Board Meeting

# **UTAH WATER QUALITY BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT**

Carly Castle Trevor Heaton
Steven Earley Mike Luers
Brandon Gordon Kim Shelley
Michela Harris James Webb

#### DIVISION OF WATER QUALITY STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT

Robert Beers Brenda Johnson Hannah Bonner Glen Lischeske John Mackey Paul Burnett **Emily Cantón** George Meados Krystol Carfaro Winnie Pan Eric Castrejon Dave Pierson Skyler Davies Jen Robinson Judy Etherington Danny Ryan Clanci Hawks Lonnie Shull Samantha Heusser Jeff Studenka Beth Wondimu Ken Hoffman

#### **OTHERS PRESENT**

Soren Simonson Jordan River Commission

Chad Burrell WWOCC

Juan GarridoSpringville CityTresa MartinHinckley TownBrian FlorangHinckley TownLeon LewisHinckley Town

Derek Holmstead Jones & DeMille Engineering
Daniel Holly Jones & DeMille Engineering

Page 2 April 27, 2022 Water Quality Board **Minutes** 

### **WORK MEETING**

**Update on New Funding Sources:** Mr. Hoffman and Mr. Davies presented the Board with the new <u>funding sources</u>.

Mr. Earley called the Meeting to order at 9:30 AM.

### **ROLL CALL**

Mr. Earley took roll call for the members of the Board and audience.

#### APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF MARCH 23, 2022 BOARD MEETING

Motion: Mr. Webb moved to approve the minutes of the March 23, 2022 Board meeting.

Mr. Heaton seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

#### **EXECUTIVE SECRETARY REPORT**

Mr. Mackey addressed the Board regarding the following.

Water Quality Division

- Overview of Division Sections
  - Administrative Services
  - Monitoring and Reporting Section
  - o Info and Data Services Section
  - Compliance and Enforcement Section
  - o General Permitting Section
  - o Individual Permitting Section
  - o Engineering Section
  - Standards and Technical Services Section
  - Watershed Protection Section
- Staff Introductions
  - Hannah Bonner

#### **FUNDING REQUESTS**

**Financial Report:** Ms. Carfaro updated the Water Quality Board on the Loan Funds and Hardship Grant Funds as indicated in the <u>packet</u>.

**Hinckley Town Planning Advance:** Mr. Meados presented the Board with a request for a hardship planning advance.

Motion: Mr. Luers moved to approve authorize a hardship planning grant of \$15,000 to Hinckley Town under the following special conditions:

1. The Division of Water Quality must approve the engineering agreement and plan of study before the advance will be executed.

Page 3 April 27, 2022 Water Quality Board **Minutes** 

- 2. The City must agree to participate annually in the Municipal Wastewater Planning Program (MWPP).
- 3. As part of the facility planning, the City must complete a Water Conservation and Management Plan.

Mr. Webb seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

# **OTHER**

**Utah Wastewater Operator Certification Program 2021 Annual Report:** Mr. Burrell presented the Board with the Utah Wastewater Operator Certification Program 2021 Annual Report.

# **PUBLIC COMMENTS**

There were no public comments.

# MEETING ADJOURNMENT

Motion: Mr. Webb moved to adjourn the meeting.

Mr. Luers seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

To view the full recording of the Water Quality Board meeting. <a href="https://deq.utah.gov/boards/utah-water-quality-board-meetings">https://deq.utah.gov/boards/utah-water-quality-board-meetings</a>

Next Meeting –May 25, 2022 Meeting begins at 8:30 am

In-Person MASOB 195 North 1950 West Board Room 1015 Salt Lake City, UT 84116

Via Zoom

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/7074990271

Steven Earley, Chair Utah Water Quality Board

DWQ-2022-010491



# Department of Environmental Quality

Kimberly D. Shelley Executive Director

DIVISION OF WATER QUALITY John K. Mackey, P.E. Interim Director Water Quality Board
Steven K. Earley, Chair
James Webb, Vice Chair
Carly Castle
Brandon Gordon
Michela Harris
Joseph Havasi
Trevor Heaton
Michael D. Luers
Kimberly D. Shelley
John K. Mackey
Interim Executive Secretary

# **MEMORANDUM**

**TO:** Utah Water Quality Board

THROUGH: John Mackey

Interim Division Director

**FROM:** Emily Cantón

**Assistant Director** 

**DATE:** May 25, 2022

**SUBJECT:** Request to Appoint Paul Burnett as Signatory for State Nonpoint Source Program

The Watershed Protection Section is responsible for oversight of the State Nonpoint Source Program, including the \$1,000,000 annual allocation and special projects funded directly by the Water Quality Board. The section oversees the application and award process, reviews pay requests, and assists with project closeout.

Historically, the Watershed Protection Section Manager and the Nonpoint Source Coordinator are signatories for nonpoint source grant awards, amendments, and payments. This allows efficient processing of grant and payment documents. Recently, the Nonpoint Source Coordinator vacancy was filled by Paul Burnett. Therefore, we are requesting the Board's authorization for him to be signatory for nonpoint source grant awards, amendments, and payments.

We appreciate your consideration.

DWQ-2022-012992